In Front of District Library, North Lakhimpur, Assam - 787001

Students' Union Election: 2023-24

Students' Union Election-2023-24 held

The election to Lakhimpur Commerce  College Students Union for the session 2023-24 was held today. According to Prof. Pankaj Lochan Das, the Returning Officer to LCCSU election, voting was held for two posts of the students body today as rests of the posts were won by candidates uncontested. Votes were held for the posts of General Secretary and Vice President of the students union where five candidates were in the fray. While for the post of General Secretary, the contest was triangular, there was direct contest for the Vice President’s post. Elaborate arrangements were made by the election committee of Lakhimpur Commerce College for the smooth and transparent polling for the students union. Votes were taken in computerized systems in six polling stations which were conducted by a team of polling personnel consisting of a Presiding Officer and two polling officers. Polling Agents from contesting candidates were present in each of the polling stations of the college. Apart from that teachers and staff from the library and computer laboratory of the college led by Election Officer Dr Biva Dutta assisted the  polling process in checking the identity of each voter students according to their classes and streams and issuing voters slips. A team of paramedics from Lakhimpur District Health Department was present at the college during the polling time. The polling for LCCSU began at 10 am and ended at 3 pm. The counting began at 4 pm and results were declared at 4 pm by the Returning Officer. In the result Mausam Borah won the post of General Secretary by securing 324 votes defeating his nearest rival Rahul Dutta  by  28 votes votes. For the post of Vice President Ejaj Ahmed defeated his only opponent Sangeeta Chaudhury by a margin of 56 votes. He secured 413 votes against 357 votes by his direct contender. Advocate Naba Jyoti Saikia attended the entire polling process as the Election Observer. The Principal of the college Dr. Lohit Hazarika congratulated the winning candidates and extended his gratitude for all the staff of the college for their cooperation in the election process.


1. English&articleid=THESENTI_GUWE_20230914_7_3&artwidth=124.36666666666667px