In Front of District Library, North Lakhimpur, Assam - 787001


The history of the departments dates back to 1992. In the time of starting of the department Mrs. Ronali Goswami joined as a faculty member. Due to personal cause Ronali Goswami left the college in 1993 and that year Mrs. Purabi Hazarika jointed in the department as faculty member. These faculties took much initiative for development of the department and students offered their high interest toward the sociology subject. With the demand of students major course in sociology subject was started in 1996 and Mr. Kukil Sarmah joined as a lecture in the department in that year. College authority decided to appoint two other lecturers in the department to reduce the increasing work load of the department. In 1997 Mr. Mahesh Dutta and in 1998 Mr. Manuj Kr. Tamuli were appointed as lecturer of the department. Mr. Kukil Sarmah started coaching classes on P. G. course in Sociology subject under distance course of Dibrugarh University. But in 2004, Kukil Samah left the college for his personal problem.  Inspite the constant demand for more faculties, the department still continues with three permanent faculty members.



a.    The main objective of the department is to provide an opportunity to the student community to study Sociology as a discipline in Major and General Courses at degree level under Dibrugarh University syllabus.

b.    To motivate and generate social consciousness among the students of the college in general and of the department in particulars.


The mission of the department is to build the students up as responsible citizen with adequate knowledge of their right duties, and codes of social life who can contribute to the process of making a healthy, developed and integrated society in modernized and globalized societies. It is a noble endeavour of the department to encourage the students to inculcate social values, to strive to uphold the ideas of social construction and to serve the community around and the nation at large at the best of their abilities.

The Name of Present Faculties of the Department:

1.         Mrs. Purabi Hazarika. M. A, M. Phil

2.         Mr. Mahesh Dutta. M. A, M. Phil

3.         Mr. Manuj Kr. Tamuli. M. A


Assistant Professor (HOD)
MA. M.Phil
Date of Joining: 1994-08-01
Assistant Professor
MA, M. Phil
Date of Joining: 1997-08-01
Mr Manuj Kumar Tamuli
Assistant Professor
Date of Joining: 1998-08-01
HOD, Department of Sociology
Lakhimpur Commerce College
In Front of District Library, North Lakhimpur, Assam - 787001